By Your Side

We all have to know by now that Maggie is a Tenth Avenue North fangirl. Seeing them in concert a few months back was such an amazing experience and I can’t even describe how great they are. There’s no need for studio editing their voices (that’s the statement I’m going with because I cannot seem to word very well tonight), because they’re naturally extremely gifted. So anyways enough rambling and onto the actual meaning of this post…

“Why are you striving these days, why are you still trying to earn grace, why are you crying, let me lift up your face, just don’t turn away”. Okay, woah. I’m never sure where to even begin with how I’d explain that because it could mean a million new, different things every time you read it. We’re striving to be the best when, let’s be honest, why does that actually matter? If we are who we are and that’s what we stick with then how can there be a best? Best. Adjective. A word I’d call pointless if it weren’t in our bovine dictionaries. He wants us to give our lives for Him, yet we turn our faces away from the very thing we need.

“Why are you looking for love, why are you still searching, as if I’m not enough, to where will you go child, tell me where will you run, to where will you run”. We look in this world for things that we think can sustain ourselves and we try to thrive off of other people; whether it means we use their attention or we build our thrones out of the people we stepped on to get there. If God isn’t enough what is? We run to the easiest thing that seems to help us like drugs or hurting ourselves, but if you honestly think about it, what good has ever come from them? There’s no Earthly thing we can run to that will sustain us like God, and he’s the easiest thing to hold onto.

“Cause I’ll be by your side whenever you fall, in the dead of night whenever you call, and please don’t fight these hands that are holding you, my hands are holding you”. He will never leave us nor will He turn us away if we’re broken. He wants us because we’re broken so He can show us how He can break our shackles.

Sorry for the long post, I was feeling a little bit of a longer one tonight and I needed to reassure two people who means so much to me that I’m not giving up on God or them.

And for the little lady out there (and you know who you are) that I talked to about hurting yourself tonight, this post was created for you ma petite amour.

Leave a Reply

