2016 in a nutshell (*WARNING* long post)

2016, it has been… a year.

Going all the way back to the end of 2015, I met some people that changed my life in a major way. Over the course of 2016, I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know them and many other great people. I’m going to share this year with you month by month:

January was good. I went on a retreat and turned a year older.

February was normal, kind of boring honestly.

March was also boring, until the 24th. That day rocked my world and turned it completely upside-down. Due to a personal event that took place that day, it basically made March 24th to mid-June feel like a living hell in my mind. On the bright side, though, at least school was over with.

In July I went on a missions trip which became the best week of my life thus far. I fell into a Spiritual High and learned so much from it while making some of my best friends.

August I spent with the same people and if I hadn’t already fallen in love with this group of people yet, I definitely did in August.

September to November I had a boyfriend. If you know me and you just didn’t know that- yeah I can’t believe it either.

November was a struggle though. The relationship broke off and I started to make things happen in some of my friendships that I’m not happy about and I was wrong. I fell into another low point, ugh.

Finally, we’re in December. These months flew by like crazy and I’m not sure how I got here so quickly. It was a pretty normal month, nothing specific happened. Now, here’s what I learned:

Number one, I learned that we don’t always have to be okay. There’s going to be struggles in life that we just can’t get around and I need to accept that. I’ve tried to hide things and make it seem like I’m doing perfectly fine, but that’s not the truth and God is here whether things are okay or not.

Number two, I learned that imperfection is perfection. I didn’t like to leave my house without makeup because for some reason I thought people would look at my and think something different than they did before. It doesn’t really seem like a big deal in other people’s minds, but it consumed a lot of my mind. It took many failed attempts but I finally decided to go to school with no makeup on, and to my surprise, some approached me to say that I looked especially good that day. This isn’t something to say for bragging rights, but for the purpose behind it. That person didn’t know what I’d been thinking about and God stepped into my life to prove me wrong. I didn’t think it would help me feeling that way at all to be completely honest, but it was like a switch in my mind completely turned the opposite way. I still care about what I look like and I want to take care of myself the best I can, but I no longer feel the need to cover up the things I don’t like about myself.

Number three, God really does come into my life in the weirdest and smallest freaking ways possible. There were so many random people that showed up in my life that had no relevance before; some of the people were people that I didn’t even know or had never seen before. It helped me be able to see the small ways He’s working in my life for the benefit of His greater plans.

As far as an update goes for health, I’m in the same place I was last year at this time- possibly a bit worse. Obviously it is really easy to say you’ll be strong when you’re not necessarily going through the pain when you say it, but I’, beginning to learn how to cope with it. I know that God is going to use this in my life someday and somehow (although sometime soon would be nice), and I am willing to wait until that day comes. We always want what we can’t have and my goal for this upcoming year is to learn to want what I have because I’m blessed in many ways I never acknowledge.

This is 3 years going on this site now and it makes me both sad and happy to look back at how much I have changed.

Until next year. ♡

p1020492

Leave a Reply

